· My Photography Blog ·

Engagement Teaser: Simran & Gravinder

In Around Vancouver, Cameras, Canon 5DMKII, Canon EF 135mm f2.0 L, E-Shoot, Lenses on 11/12/2010 at 3:30 am

Yesterday was just awesome. The weather was perfect for an e-shoot and I was able to coordinate a date with Simran and Gravinder to do their engagment shoot. This is a teaser shot of their engagement shoot and I hope that you guys enjoy it! I just wanted to say congratulations to Simran & Gravinder on their recent engagement!

  1. Marlon, great work. I wanted to ask you a few question regarding wedding photography. I am shooting one on June 5th and wanted to ask you about lens choices. I will be doing Hotel dress up shots, walk or ride to the ceremony, and in the wedding shots by alter and all. I currently shoot with a Canon 7D and a Sigma 30mm f1.4 as my only lens. I wanted to get a Sigma 50mm f1.4 to add to my collection. I wanted to rent a Canon 24-70mm f2.8 for that day as well. Do you think this will be a good combination of lenses for this particular job? Please shed some light on this.

    • Hey Dwayne,

      Thanks for your comment! As far is shooting with your 7D, I would highly recommend renting a Canon EF 24mm f1.4L II USM, and a Canon EF 50mm f1.4 USM. As an alternative to the Canon EF 50mm f1.4 USM, the Sigma 50mm f1.4 HSM will work wonders on your 7D to create those jaw dropping photos. I personally like using primes as oppose to zooms because I like working with as much natural light as I can. I also prefer a lower ISO setting to create a wider dynamic range for more feasible editing after the fact. You may be wondering why I’d recommend the 24mm as oppose to using your Sigma 30mm. The 6mm of difference in FOV helps when shooting weddings. It mimics a Canon EF 35mm f1.4L USM on a 5D mark II, and with that set, you can shoot entire weddings with it.

      If you have the money, buying yourself a 24mm f1.4L USM (Mark I) would be a better option than renting the Canon EF 24mm f1.4L II USM. You will really appreciate what the Original 24L will offer you!

      If you are really into zooms, then renting the Canon EF-s 17-55mm f2.8 IS USM would be a better option as oppose to the Canon EF 24-70 f2.8 L USM. It has an IS system and is known to be sharper than the L alternative. The EF-s lens is also wider giving you those story telling shots that are so important when documenting weddings.

      If you have any more questions, do not hesitate to ask!

  2. Thanks for the reply and all the help Marlon. I’ve been still doing tons of research and stuff for this. I an getting a 5D Mark II because I decided to shoot full frame as it will benefit me in so many ways. As for this type of camera and based on your experience. What would you consider the ideal lenses to shoot for a wedding? Also I will be just focusing on the photo journalistic style images as I was told. The client would like me to do more of candid and documentary work for the wedding. They have someone doing formals already. But should I ask them for a shot list? Back to the lenses. I prefer to shoot with primes and are more comfortable with that. I was told I should probably get a zoom. Clearly I need some help. I love your style and approach to your photography and can use some insight on this. Feel free to email me at dwayne@dwayneburgessphotography.com I don’t want to post all over your blog and make it look cluttered lol.

    Thanks,
    Dwayne

Leave a Reply

